Cloud Services

ModernOps

Teams management
Published On May 16, 2024 - 2:08 PM

Teams management

Discover the concept of a team, which is a Kyndryl Modern Operations Applications construct that associates a group of users.

What is a team?

Kyndryl Modern Operations Applications teams enable the following capabilities:
  • Govern resources within an organization.
  • Hold cloud provider credentials.
  • A team may be associated with one external IdP group through an explicit mapping set on the team.
  • If a team is associated with an external IdP, then the user associations for this team will be defined and maintained in the external IdP system. The user-group membership will be propagated to the Kyndryl Modern Operations Applications through claims that are part of the single sign on (SSO) token sent from the IdP to the Kyndryl Modern Operations Applications.
  • If a team is not associated with an external IdP group, then the user associations are defined and maintained within the Kyndryl Modern Operations Applications.

Teams tab

The
Teams
tab is one of two places where component associations take place. The other is the Users Access tab. In addition to naming the team and selecting an organization, users also add roles and assign users to a team.
To access the Teams page, follow these steps:
  1. From the Kyndryl Modern Operations Applications dashboard, click the Main menu on the left side, and select
    User Access
    ; you will be redirected to the User Access Management page.
  2. Select the
    Teams
    tab.
If you import teams from a previous version of the Kyndryl Modern Operations Applications, they will be set as
Inactive
. You will need to manually change them to active as explained in Edit a team.
You can perform the following tasks through the Teams tab:
  • Set up a team
  • Edit a team
  • Add roles to a team and associate with a business entity
  • Edit, add, or disassociate a business entity with a team
    • Remove a role from a team
  • Add users to a team
    • Unassign users from a team
  • Delete a team

Set up a team

  1. Click
    Team +
    .
  2. On the
    Create Team
    page, enter the following basic team details:
    a.
    Team ID
    : The ID can contain numbers, hyphens, and underscores, but cannot contain spaces.
    b. Team name
    c. External IdP name
    d.
    Organization:
    Select an Organization from the dropdown list. At least one Organization was added when the service was set up.
    Status must be set to Active to onboard the new Team.
  3. Add roles and users, if desired (see steps below).
  4. Click
    Create
    to save the new team and add roles and users.

Edit a team

  1. Click the
    overflow menu
    at the end of the row of the team you want to alter.
  2. Select
    View Details
    . The
    Team Setup Admin
    page displays.
  3. Click
    Edit
    and make any desired changes.
  4. Click
    Update
    to save your changes.

Add roles to a team and associate with a business entity

System-wide roles are not associated with specific business entities.
  1. On the
    Create Team
    page, or the
    Team Setup Admin
    page, scroll to the Roles section.
  2. Click
    Add Role +
    .
  3. Select a role from the dropdown list. If the
    Associate the role with business entities
    list displays, click the checkbox to select a role and select an application from the corresponding dropdown list.
  4. Click
    Add
    .

Edit, add, or disassociate a business entity with a team

  1. On the
    Create Team
    page, or the
    Team Setup Admin
    page, scroll to the Roles section.
  2. Click the
    overflow menu
    at the end of the row of the role you want to edit.
  3. Select
    View Details
    . The screen for the role displays the role's associations.
  4. To make changes, click
    Edit
    . The roles associated with business entities are displayed.
  5. To disassociate, select to uncheck the checkbox of the item you want to disassociate.
  6. To associate, select to uncheck the
    Show Associated
    checkbox. The list expands.
  7. Click the checkbox and select a value from the corresponding dropdown list for each item you want to associate with the role.
  8. Click
    Update
    . The list displays the newly (dis)associated items.
  9. You can also click
    Add association +
    to view more business entities and values with which to associate the role.
  10. To disassociate, select to uncheck the checkbox of the item you want to disassociate.
  11. To associate, select to uncheck the
    Show Associated
    checkbox. The list expands.
  12. Click the checkbox and select a value from the corresponding dropdown list for each item you want to associate with the role.
  13. Click
    Add
    . The list displays the newly (dis)associated items.
  14. Clicking to check the
    Show Associated
    checkbox collapses the list to show only those items that are associated with the role.
  15. When all changes have been made and saved, click
    Close x
    in the upper-right side of the window.

Remove a role from a team

  1. On the
    Create Team
    page, or the
    Team Setup Admin
    page, scroll to the Roles section.
  2. Click the
    overflow menu
    at the end of the row of the role you want to delete.
  3. Select
    Remove
    . The role is deleted from the list and is no longer associated with the team.

Add users to a team

  1. On the
    Create Team
    page, or the
    Team Setup Admin
    page, scroll to the Users section.
  2. Select a user from the Assign Users dropdown list and click the checkbox beside the user's name.
  3. Click
    Assign
    .

Unassign users from a team

  1. On the
    Create Team
    page, or the
    Team Setup Admin
    page, scroll to the Users section.
  2. You have two options to unassign:
    a. Select the checkbox beside the name of the user you want to unassign, and click
    Unassign
    .
    b. Click the
    overflow menu
    at the end of the row of the user you want to unassign, and click
    Unassign
    .
  3. Confirm that you want to unassign the user. The user is deleted from the list and is no longer associated with the team.

Delete a team

  1. Click the
    overflow menu
    at the end of the row of the team you want to delete.
  2. Select
    Delete
    .
  3. Confirm that you want to delete the team.
Do you have two minutes for a quick survey?
Take Survey