Cloud Services

ModernOps

System user management
Published On May 16, 2024 - 2:08 PM

System user management

Understand the concept of system users, which can be a person or a system, and how they can access the User Interface (UI) only through API keys.
System Users do not have access to the User Interface (UI) and can access only API Keys. System Users can be a person or a system.
User Admins
and
System Admins
can manage System Users, while
Team Setup Admins
can view System Users assigned on a team's details page.
Before you can manage System Users, you must first enable the System User function with an API.
To access the System Users page, follow these steps:
  1. From the Kyndryl Modern Operations Applications dashboard, click the Main menu on the left side, and select
    User Access
    ; you will be redirected to the User Access Management page.
  2. Select the
    System Users
    tab.
The System Users tab is for setting up and managing System Users. Authorized users can perform the following tasks through the System Users tab:
  • Add a system user
  • View and edit a user
  • Add a system user to a team
  • Unassign a system user from a team
  • Delete a system user
  • Bulk delete system users
  • Generate and regenerate API keys
  • Revoke API keys

Add a system user

  1. Click
    New System User +
    .
  2. On the
    Create System User
    page, enter the following basic system user details:
    a. System User ID
    b. System User name
    c. Description
    Status must be set to Active to onboard the new System User.
  3. Click
    Add System Role +
    .
    a. Select the System Role from the dropdown menu.
    b. Click
    Add
    .
  4. Click
    Assign Teams
    .
    a. Select the checkbox beside the team ID for each team that you want to assign.
    b. Click
    Assign
    .
  5. Click
    Create
    .
System roles can be assigned only to system users and are assigned directly to system users, whereas other roles can be assigned to a system user through a team.

View and edit a user

  1. Click the
    overflow menu
    at the end of the row of the user you want to view and select
    View Details
    . The system user's page displays.
  2. You can continue selecting the
    overflow menu
    or tabs to view all of the available details for the user.
    a. Click the
    System Role
    tab to add or delete system roles.
    b. Click the
    Teams
    tab to add or delete teams.
  3. To make changes, click
    Edit
    and make any desired changes.
  4. When finished, click
    Update
    to save your changes.
If removing a team, a dialog window allows you to confirm that you want to remove the team or cancel the action and return to the previous page. For other changes, once
Update
is clicked, the system returns a message stating either that the change was accepted or that there was an error.

Add a system user to a team

  1. From the User Access page, select the
    Teams
    tab.
  2. Click
    Team +
    .
  3. When the Teams page displays, scroll down to the
    System Users
    section, and click
    Assign System User(s) +
    . The page for
    Assign System Users
    displays.
  4. Click the down arrow beside the
    User(s)
    dropdown list, and then click to select the user(s) you want to add to a team. The selected users are shown in the text box above the dropdown list.
  5. Click
    Assign Users
    . A success message displays the success or failure of the action.

Unassign a system user from a team

  1. On the User Access page, select the
    Teams
    tab.
  2. Click the
    overflow menu
    at the end of the row of the team you want to view and select
    View Details
    .
  3. When the team window displays, scroll down to the
    System Users
    section.
  4. Click he
    overflow menu
    at the end of the row of the user you want to unassign from the team and select
    Unassign
    .
  5. Confirm that you want to unassign the user.

Delete a system user

  1. Click the
    overflow menu
    at the end of the row of the user you want to delete.
  2. Select
    Delete
    .
  3. Confirm that you want to delete the System User. A success message displays the success or failure of the action. The System User API Key is also removed.

Bulk delete system users

  1. Select the checkbox(es) next to any system users you want to delete. A
    Delete
    button displays at the top of the column.
  2. Click
    Delete
    .
  3. Confirm that you want to delete the System User. A success message displays the success or failure of the action.

Generate and regenerate API keys

  1. Click the
    overflow menu
    at the end of the row of the system user you want to generate an API key for.
  2. Select
    Generate API Key
    . The API Key dialog box displays an API Key.
  3. Click
    Regenerate
    to create a new API Key.
    You may use the
    Revoke
    option here, or you may follow the instructions to Revoke API Keys below.
    Once an API Key is generated, it will not be shown again in the UI in order to maintain security. The Admin must regenerate a new Key if the previous key is not known.
  4. In the confirmation window, click
    OK
    to continue the action, or click
    Cancel
    to terminate the action. A success message displays the success or failure of the action.
  5. After the key is generated the first time, when clicking the
    overflow menu
    beside that system user, the options to
    Regenerate the API Key
    and
    Revoke API Key
    display.
  6. Click
    Regenerate API Key
    .
  7. At the API Key dialog window, click
    Regenerate
    to generate a new API Key. The new Key displays in the API Key text box. A success message displays the success or failure of the action.

Revoke API keys

  1. Click the the
    overflow menu
    at the end of the row of the system user you want to revoke an API key for and select
    Revoke API Key
    .
  2. At the Revoke API Key confirmation window, click
    Revoke
    to revoke the API Key, or click
    Cancel
    to cancel the action. A success message displays the success or failure of the action.
Once an API Key is revoked, the
Generate API Key
option is available again.
Do you have two minutes for a quick survey?
Take Survey