GitLab: Plan phase
GitLab is a single application that spans the entire software development lifecycle. This makes GitLab unique and creates a streamlined software workflow, unlocking your organization from the constraints of a pieced-together toolchain.
DevOps Intelligence supports your use of GitLab and GitLab Enterprise. For DevOps Intelligence to pull data from GitLab, you must configure a GitLab account. GitLab Application requires the following information for GitLab:
- Name: Local account name. It could be any string and is used only for reference.
- User: Username for GIT. Generally, the email ID with which the user logged in to GIT.
- Token: Personal access token. Tokens can be generated from the following menu selection: settings → access tokens. The personal access token requires permissions within the following recommended scopes:
Application also requires the following GitLab credentials:
- GitEndPoint: gitlab
- Name: neha-gitlab
- User: [email protected]
- Token: Personal access token.
GitLab Enterprise Application requires the following information for GitLab Enterprise:
- Name: Local account name. It could be any string and is used only for reference.
- Host: Git API URL of the Git Host. eg, API url will be like https://gitlab.gravitant.net
- User: Username for GIT. Generally the email ID with which user logged in to GIT.
- Token: Personal access token. The personal access token requires the permissions within the following recommended scopes:
Application also requires the following GitLab Enterprise credentials:
- GitEndPoint: gitlab enterprise
- Host: https://gitlab.gravitant.net
- Name: rajat
- User: [email protected]
- Token: Personal access token.
Configuring DevOps Intelligence for GitLab: Plan phase and recent customers
The procedures in this section are valid only for customers onboarded 6 June 2024 or after. Procedures for legacy customers are provided in the subsequent section Configuring DevOps Intelligence for GitLab, legacy customers.
Use the following procedure to configure the DevOps Intelligence for Azure Pipelines:
Tools must be configured for a specific application in a specific DevOps phase. In step 2 of the following procedure, you are choosing the application and DevOps phase to associate with GitLab as part of the configuration procedure.
- Click Settings & Utilities → Application Configuration. You will see a list of existing applications.
- Select the existing application for which you want to configure GitLab or create a new application.
- Click the overflow menu (vertical ellipsis) on the Plan row for the selected application.
- Select Add New Tool Configuration from the overflow menu. The service displays the Add Tool Configuration form.
- Select GitLab for Tool Engine.
- Click Submit.
Onboarding GitLab: Plan phase
After configuring GitLab, you must onboard the technical service. Use the following procedure:
- Click the overflow menu for the selected application.
- Select Onboard Technical Service. The service displays the Onboard Technical Service form.
- Select Plan for DevOps Phase. The service displays the Tool Engine field.
- Select GitLab for Tool Engine. The service displays the Select Connection field.
- Select the appropriate connection. The service displays the Select Organization field.
- Select the appropriate organization. The service displays the Select Projects field.
- Select the appropriate project. The service displays the Repository Name field.
- Select the appropriate repository.
- Click Onboard. The service navigates to the Application Configuration page.
- You now have the option of clicking the overflow menu for Develop and selecting Edit/Delete Tools Configuration to confirm that GitLab has been fully configured.
Deleting GitLab as a technical service
The administrator may, at will, delete the GitLab technical service. Use the following procedure:
- Navigate to DevOps Intelligence → Settings & Utilities → Application Configuration.
- Expand the application to view all associated phases.
- Click the Overflow menu for Plan.
- Click Delete Technical Service.
- Click GitLab for Select Tools Configured. The service displays the Select Organization field.
- Select the appropriate organization. The service displays the Select Projects field.
- Select the appropriate project.
- Click Delete.
Configuring DevOps Intelligence for GitLab, legacy customers
The procedures in this section are valid only for customers onboarded before 6 June 2024.
If the user wants to track all the repository comprising this organization (Organization Level), then he would need to select orgs. And, if the user wants to track a particular repository (Repository Level), he would need to select repos.
Organization level tracking: For this type of tracking, some selections have to be made in the system, as described in the following list:
- Account: Refers to the account through which the tracking is to be done.
- Select Tracking Type: Users must select Organization for Org level tracking
- Search Organization: By selecting here, a list of all organizations for the selected account but not tracked by Application. Select any organization you want to track and select Configure.
Repository level tracking: For this type of tracking, some selections have to be made in the system, as described in the following list:
- Account: Refers to the account through which the tracking is to be done.
- Select Tracking Type: User must select Repository for Repo level tracking
- Search Organization: By selecting here, a list of all organizations for the selected account but not tracked by Application. Select any organization to be tracked and selectConfigure. Select any organization you want to track and select Configure.
- Search Repository: By selecting here, a list will be displayed with all the repositories that are part of the selected organization but not tracked. Select any repository you want to track and selectConfigure.
The Sync Feature scans current data for visibility after configuring credentials periodically. The intervals are set as follows:
- The account Sync Interval is set to 5 mins: Refresh current data
- The account Delete Interval is set to 7 mins: All deleted accounts updated
- The history pulled Interval is set to 180 days: Data history
Configuring GitLab
To complete the integration of GitLab, you must complete a configuration process. Kyndryl supports two different configuration processes only one of which your organization has subscribed. If your organization was onboarded before 6 June, 2024, you are subject to the legacy process (legacy customers). If your organization was onboarded on 6 June 2024 or after, you are subject to the new process (recent customers). Refer to the appropriate document in the following list:
The configuration mechanisms that require these processes are in a transition phase driven by the fact that each tool must be individually adapted for the new mechanism, which is more efficent than the legacy mechanism. Both processes are supported until the transition of all supported tools from the old mechanism to the new mechanism is complete.